The European Union (EU) is a political entity of 27 countries. All member states are considered equal, even though they differ greatly in size and population. Germany, the economic powerhouse of the European Union, plays a unique and essential role in the group.

Recently, the long-term future of the EU has come under pressure with Brexit (the exit of Great Britain from the EU on January 31, 2020) and the increasing draw of nativist and nationalist political groups undermining the rule of law.

Theme Content